Rasmus Sørensen | Traits // Balancing Act (Double Release) | March 15, 2024

Release: March 15, 2024

Young rising-star Danish pianist Rasmus Sørensenwas an active member of Copenhagen’s jazz scene, before relocating to New York City in 2018 to pursue his studies at the Manhattan School of Music on a full-tuition scholarship. Within five years he’d proved himself as a compelling creative force, playing alongside some of the scene’s most reputable musicians and performing his original compositions in some of the world’s most revered jazz clubs. 

His sophomore album ‘Balancing Act’, featuring Kendrick Scott and Alexander Claffy, is set to release on March 15th on April Records, alongside a reissue of his 2022 debut ‘Traits’.

In line with New York’s fast paced spirit, Sørensen received a phone call from Claffy and immediately headed into the studio to record a selection of American Songbook classics, a Coltrane number and a handful of originals with two veterans of the city’s prestigious scene. Having never played together before, with no preparation and a total of three hours to record, the resulting music is energetic, spontaneous, playful and exciting

Effortless groove, rich contemporary harmonyvirtuosic improvisations, dextrous rhythmic complexity and intricate arrangements make for an adventurous and thrilling listen; the first meeting of three fearless and experienced masters of their craft. 

Initially released on digital services only on June 17th, 2022, Sørensen’s powerful debut is set for reissue on LP and CD via April Records. Inspired by the scenery, feelings and momentum of his time in New York, ‘Traits’ was recorded in rural Denmark, accompanied by Jon Henriksson on double bass and Francesco Ciniglio on drums. Rooted in tradition with a vivacious forward-thinking sense of modernity, the record received international critical acclaim from publications includingJazzwise Magazine and All About Jazz, and saw the trio embark on a 15 date tour across Europe in the summer of 2022.

Line up

Balancing Act

Rasmus Sørensen | Grand Piano
Kendrick Scott | Drums
Alexander Claffy | Double Bass


Rasmus Sørensen | Grand Piano
Jon Henriksson | Double Bass
Francesco Ciniglio | Drums

Track Listing

Balancing Act

Is That So?
Steps Ahead
Blissful Ignorance
Mr. Day
Everything I Love


The Ramble
Wave Dance
The Heights
Late Spring
A Reminder

Listen Here