Maria Dybbroe | MEUF Vol 2 | March 8, 2024

Release: March 8, 2024

Celebrating the musicianship of nineteen female artists and improvisers from around Europe, this International Women’s Day will see the release of a compilation record championing cross-Nordic collaboration, experimentation and self-expression. ‘MEUF Volume 2’ is set to release on March 8th on Barefoot Records.

Curated by award-winning composer/saxophonist Maria Dybbroe, the second MEUF compilation sees her continue her mission to foster new musical collaborations and create a platform for female voices in experimental music, who often find themselves a minority.

Stunningly varied, the album’s ten pieces range from Norwegian folklore storytelling to surreal industrial soundscapes. Each ensemble converses in an extensive sonic vocabulary including lamenting string harmonies, energetic saxophone dialogues, ear-massaging vocal melodies, and more. Each piece encapsulates a profound story, whether it be about the artists’ personal journeys, their heartfelt reflections, or their battle cries for societal change.

“This record does not revolve around anyone specific, but rather celebrates the power of collective synergy,” says Dybbroe. By combining each artist’s distinctive voice and musical approach, MEUF Vol 2 evokes the essence of unity and the meaning of music as a universal language. With the organic blend of each participating musician’s talents, the album transforms into an auditory tapestry that pushes the boundaries of expression.

Based in Oslo and Copenhagen, Maria Dybbroe is a prominent improviser, composer, saxophonist, and clarinettist. Over the years, she has released nine albums under her own name and contributed to more than 20 others. She is the leading force of the double-trio Caktus which gave her the nomination as ‘Composer of the Year’ at the Danish Critic’s Prize ‘Steppeulven’ in 2020, as well as a nomination for ‘Album of the year’ at Danish Music Awards Jazz. In 2021 she also won the title ‘New Name of the Year’ at Danish Music Awards Jazz with the collective band Maraton, and earlier she has received several prices and nominations for her political engagement and work for a blossoming and diverse jazz-scene in Aarhus and Copenhagen with the organisations Sun Ship and The Community.

Line up/Track Listing

01 Skreii
Composition: Guro Kvifte Nesheim / Camilla Hole
Soprano saxophone: Camilla Hole
Hardanger d’amore: Guro Kvifte Nesheim

02 Siren
Composition: Kirstine Lindemann
Voice: Ly Tran

03 Vi ser havet i det fjerne – part I
Composition: Maria Dybbroe
Viola: Lisa Marie Vogel
Violin: Bettina Ezaki

04 Gorrlaus
Composition: traditional
Astrid Garmo – hardingfele, tramping
Michaela Antalová – drums, percussion

05 Sweetener 
Composition: Sarah Buchner / Andrea S. Giordano
Voice, flute and electronics: Sarah Buchner / Andrea S. Giordano

06  Brussel’s Antimatter
Composition/Improvisation: Amalie Dahl / Ornella Noulet
Alto saxophones: Amalie Dahl / Ornella Noulet

07 Encircle 
Composition: Sofie Norling / Michala Østergaard
Sofie Norling: Vocals and electronics
Michala Østergaard-Nielsen: Percussion and bow

08 The Masterplan
Composition and field recordings: Michala Turcerová / Lone Aagot Meinich

09 Eevee
Composition: Lil Lacy / Jenny Berger Myhre
Cello, voice & electronics: Lil Lacy
Piano, electronics and field recordings: Jenny Berger Myhre

10 Vi ser havet i det fjerne – part II
Composition: Maria Dybbroe
Viola: Lisa Marie Vogel
Violin: Bettina Ezaki

Listen Here